Photos from Southside Virginia

Nest Time

with 3 comments

Osprey 03

Seems like everywhere I look I see a nest being built or inhabited by future moms and dads or in the case of larger Birds babies in the nest or at least eggs to incubate and protect(lots of large crows around right now and they love an egg as much as a Raccoon does and are just as fast to snag one out of the nest given a chance.

Landing @ Home

Needless to say this nest is well guarded by these 3rd year parents. They are well past the type of rookie mistake that would allow an egg thief to succeed in anything but a painful reminder of the sharpness of those claws.

Leaving the Nest

On the bad news side of things it looks as if the Great Horned Owls will not be having any little Owlets this year as it is very late and no little ones are calling out in the pine woods  as of yesterday at sunrise.Both the Female and Male have been sited (by me)so there is no nest to guard and it is well past egg time . Perhaps next year. We will see. In the mean time I will be checking some other spots that look promising for new Mama Owls to call home on the off chance that there may be some young elsewhere spun off old Ma.

Bald Eagle Hunting in Pines

  This is not a great shot but I happened to find this Bald Eagle in the pine woods awhile back chasing a squirrel for breakfast. He caught sight of me and got out of there before I was able to set up for a better shot. Still..

Written by kennj

April 8, 2010 at 5:49 pm

Posted in photography

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, My co-worker Chris is your neighbor and gave me your card. Thank you for allowing him to share your photos with me! I have really enjoyed looking through them and would love to find out more! I am an avid wildlife photographer… many call me obcessed…

    Anyway you have many of my Holy Grail shots like the King Fisher, the owl and the eagle. I would really love to know where to find the owls since Chris has indicated that they are regulars year after year.

    I assume that you get my email address but just in case it is hippolover@cox.net You can view some of my photos at http://www.danalusherphotos.com. I may have some good luck spots to share with you too if you are interested…

    I look forward to sharing with a fellow wildlife photographer šŸ™‚
    Dana

    Dana Lusher

    September 3, 2010 at 1:06 am

    • Dana, thanks so much for the compliments. It’s always good to find someone else who spends a lot of time looking up to see what is flying by. I believe I have gotten to the point where I can see a hawk out of the corner of my eye even when they are well hidden in a tree from looking so much.
      This is the first year in the last 6 that Mama Owl did not have chicks. I was very disappointed but there is always the coming season. Kingfishers on the Lafayette River are making a comeback I believe but are skittish and hard to photograph. They respond best to cars getting close to them. I have also been lucky on the 26th St. Bridge as they like the old piers for fishing platforms. Just need at least 400mm of lens to have a chance at a good shot. I see the Eagle flying up and down the river often and once three of them flew right down my street at about 30 ft. They also like tall trees on the river for hanging out watching or eating much like the local Osprey. Perhaps we can walk a bit one day. I am a morning person and get most of my best work done early.But I am flexible.
      Good hunting; Kenn

      kennj

      September 6, 2010 at 7:48 pm

      • Ah, I finally find your reply. Chris told me you had left one. Took me over a month to get back here…I guess I am not all that good with navagating this blog site… Always worth the hunt. I really enjoy your photos. I had to share that I found one of your owls this morning… What an up lifting experience! Stellar day, as on the way home I also got to watch a Bald Eagle flying by the interstate. While hunting down the hooter I was treated to several wood peckers, Cedar Waxwings and a coopers hawk fly by. Your piney woods is an oasis to be sure!! Now for the Kingfishers… I will try the bridge. Thanks for the suggestions! When you speak of morning walks… exactly how early is that? I have always preferred sunsets to sunrises but I too am flexible. šŸ™‚ Take good care and happy shooting!! Dana

        Dana Lusher

        October 9, 2010 at 7:44 pm


Leave a comment